Home Contact Boundaries FAQ Inspection Donate
s1 s2 s3 s4 s5 s7 s3 s3 s3 s3
History Posek Warnings Articles Privacy Log in

In Melbourne Shabbat begins Fri 17 Jul 2020 05:02 PM and ends Sat 18 Jul 2020 06:03 PM

Press Release - New COSV President Promises to raise profile

ט"ו כסלו ה' אלפים תש"ע

Article’s tags: Eruv
“It is time that the COSV raised its profile and took its rightful place in the community as a strong and effective voice of modern Orthodox Judaism” stated incoming President, Paul Korbl elected at the Annual General Meeting held last night at Kew Hebrew Congregation.
“The Council of Orthodox Synagogues", Paul added "does some very good work in the community that in many respects is taken for granted and goes unnoticed including the weekly supervision and management of the Melbourne Eruv, funding the operations of the Melbourne Beth Din, running subsidised Hebrew Reading Programs, the annual Scholar in Residence Program and hosting communal Prayer events commemorating Yom Yerushalayim and Yom Hatzmaut”.
Paul noted that Melbourne can boast supporting over 40 mainstream and satellite synagogues and looks forward the challenge of providing the necessary facilities and infrastructure required by the Orthodox community in the coming year. 

Paul paid tribute to outgoing President Moshe Trebish who had served for the last 5 years for his tireless work for the COSV. Moshe remains on the Executive and continues to play an active on our Board.

Paul pledged to work closely with other sections of the Jewish Community and to ensure that the interests of the COSV are represented on the various communal bodies.

The meeting also heard from guest speaker Mr Philip Chester, President of the Zionist Federation of Australia spoke about the issues currently facing Israel and the need for shules to support Israel by encouraging visits.

At the Annual General Meeting the Directors elected for a further term were Paul Korbl, Tallilah May, Harvey Bruce, Moshe Trebish, Jack Feldman, Michael Schmulian, Romy Leibler, David Cyprys, Isaac Teller, Ron Lazarovits and Ralph Zwier.

The meeting also passed a resolution mourning the loss of the late Harry Barr who passed away last week and paid tribute to his contribution as Honorary Secretary of the COSV for many years.

For further information regarding this Press Release please contact Paul Korbl on 9507 2319 or Henry Frenkel on 9527 7219

# reads: 1849

Printable version